top of page

Autumnal Vibes

The nights are drawing in, Strategy is out there, and I have 26,426 words under my belt towards my next book, A Legal Issue. That title, of course, could change before release date.

This new WIP starts out as a love story - lasts all of two pages, so don't panic. I am, after all, a murderer, and I promise not to let you down in that department. However, what that little bit of a lovey-dovey story setting does, is it allows me to use my favourite poem of all time, on the quotation page at the front of the book.

It is by Edwin Muir:-

Yes, yours, my love, is the right human face.

I in my mind had waited for this long,

Seeing the false and searching for the true,

Then found you as a traveller finds a place

Of welcome suddenly amid the wrong

Valleys and rocks and twisting roads. But you,

What shall I call you? A fountain in a waste,

A well of water in a country dry,

Or anything that’s honest and good, an eye

That makes the whole world bright. Your open heart,

Simple with giving, gives the primal deed,

The first good world, the blossom, the blowing seed,

The hearth, the steadfast land, the wandering sea,

Not beautiful or rare in every part,

But like yourself, as they were meant to be.

THE CONFIRMATION by Edwin Muir

15 May 1887 – 3 January 1959

Such a beautiful use of our English language. Don't just read it once, read it and read it, and let it sink in.

The book is once again set in Sheffield; with such a diverse city that I know so well, it makes sense to use all its quirkiness, its singularly unattractive dialect, and its football team. Oh okay, teams. The red and white one won't be mentioned, though.

And now on to the other side of my life as a writer, the non-writing side. I have several speaking events coming up. We have a libraries week in Sheffield, and somehow I have managed to acquire bookings at four of them, within the five day week. I am also at Morley Arts Fest, two days before our libraries week starts, so here's the full list.

Saturday 7 October Morley Arts Fest, 1.30 - 3.30, tickets £5.90

Monday 9 October Highfield Library, 5 - 6 pm

Wednesday 11 October Hillsborough Library, 11 - 12 pm

Thursday 12 October Chapeltown Library, 2 - 3 pm

Friday 13 October Crystal Peaks Library, 2 - 3 pm

In addition to these dates, I have to tell you about IKEA. Finally, finally, finally they are opening a store in Sheffield! It opens on 27 September and they are running a series of events around the city (free hot dogs, meatballs, cushions in the Peace Gardens etc), and they are providing a reading room at Midland Station. Siân acted as my PA (without me knowing about it) and contacted them to say I am a local author. As a result my books will be going in it. This was their lovely response.

"Hello Sian, Thanks so much for getting in touch, and it’s lovey to hear that a Sheffield author would like to be involved in our event. The public response to IKEA arriving has been wonderful! I am Marketing Leader for the store, which includes looking after the store opening and our community links. Our team working on this event are currently sourcing local author books so I have passed on your mums details and link to her books. If for any reason we are unable to source the book, would you be able to provide a copy to include? I will confirm if we have been able to source asap. The Reading Lounge is running from the 22nd – 25th September, so I do hope yourself and your mum will be able to pop down and see the revamped waiting area. Plus of course many of our other events. Our FIKA Cart proved very popular yesterday. Thanks very much, and if you have any further questions please do let me know."

So - up yours, Sheffield City Council, you've battled against IKEA coming here for at least fifteen years, but their persistence has paid off. People power!!!

It seems I will be a busy lady in October, and I imagine by then we will be stepping up a gear in wedding plans, as Siân and Anthony look forward to their nuptials in January.

And I will be working on my next WIP... already running around inside my head.

Happy autumn, the best time of the year.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page